Egypt Visa Requirements

Necessary documents

Egyptian regulation for tourism establishes that every international traveler is obligated to fill out an Egypt visa application form to be able to enter the country, no matter the person’s age or gender. 

Nowadays, with the arrival of the eVisa (the online visa for Egypt), the application process is easier and faster than ever: there’s no need to go through the hassle of dealing with an Embassy or Consulate. You’ll be able to process your Egypt eVisa online in just a few clear and simple steps.

Keep reading to discover all the Egypt visa requirements you need to fulfill in order to successfully apply for this travel document. 

We strongly recommend that you read our article about the entry requirements for Egypt, not only to learn about your visa requirements, but also to make sure you have everything you need when it’s time to enter the country.

  • Valid passport:
      • It has to have been issued by an eligible country.
      • It has to have a validity of at least 6 months from the date of entry into Egypt.
      • It has to have at least 2 blank pages.
  • Personal information:
      • Full name
      • Date of birth
      • Nationality
      • Passport number
      • Passport issue and expiration dates
  • Important remarks:
      • Those who hold a diplomatic or official passport can’t get their Egypt visa on arrival. They must apply in advance in the appropriate Egyptian Embassy closest to their location. 
  • Egypt visa application form: 
    • It must be filled out with personal information and other important details, for example:
        • Full name
        • Date of birth
        • Nationality
        • Estimated arrival and departure date from Egypt. 
  • Payment:
      • Credit or debit card to pay the Egypt eVisa fees.
  • Contact information:
    • You must provide a valid email address to receive the approved eVisa. 
Egypt visa requirements include filling out the applicaton form

Additional information about the Egypt visa requirements

Online tourist visa:

  • Used to travel exclusively for the purpose of tourism. 
  • To travel for work, business or academic reasons, you need to apply directly at an Egyptian embassy or consulate.

Layovers in Egypt:

  • It’s crucial to check if you need a transit visa for Egypt if you have a layover in the country. 
  • It will be mandatory depending on the duration of the layover and the traveler’s nationality. 

Validity and allowed Length of Stay of an Electronic Visa:

  • Depending on the type of visa you applied for, you have 3 to 6 months to enter Egypt counting from the day the visa is issued. 
  • If you don’t travel within that time frame, you must apply for a new visa or an extension of your current one.
  • The length of stay allowed is 30 days.


  • Some nationalities can apply for a visa extension. You must contact the Egyptian immigration authorities if that’s your case.
Read about the Egypt Visa Requirements before you visit the Sphynx

Who is eligible for eVisa Egypt?

Albania, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Belarus, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Chile, China, Colombia, Ecuador, Georgia, Hong Kong, Iceland, India, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kuwait, Malaysia, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, New Zealand, North Macedonia, Norway, Oman, Paraguay, Peru, Qatar, Russia, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Switzerland, Taiwan, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City, Venezuela, All European Union citizens.

Albania flag Albania

Argentina flag Argentina

Armenia flag Armenia

Australia flag Australia

Azerbaijan flag Azerbaijan

Bahrain flag Bahrain

Belarus flag Belarus

Bolivia flag Bolivia

Bosnia and Herzegovina flag Bosnia and Herzegovina

Brazil flag Brazil

Chile flag Chile

China flag China

Colombia flag Colombia

Ecuador flag Ecuador

Georgia flag Georgia

Hong Kong flag Hong Kong

Iceland flag Iceland

India flag India

Japan flag Japan

Kazakhstan flag Kazakhstan

Kosovo flag Kosovo

Kuwait flag Kuwait

Malaysia flag Malaysia

Mexico flag Mexico

Moldova flag Moldova

Monaco flag Monaco

Montenegro flag Montenegro

New Zealand flag New Zealand

North Macedonia flag North Macedonia

Norway flag Norway

Oman flag Oman

Paraguay flag Paraguay

Peru flag Peru

Qatar flag Qatar

Russia flag Russia

San Marino flag San Marino

Saudi Arabia flag Saudi Arabia

Serbia flag Serbia

Singapore flag Singapore

South Africa flag South Africa

South Korea flag South Korea

Switzerland flag  Switzerland

Taiwan flag Taiwan

Ukraine flag Ukraine

United Arab Emirates flag United Arab Emirates

United Kingdom flag United Kingdom

United States flag United States

Uruguay flag Uruguay

Vatican City flag  Vatican City

Venezuela flag Venezuela

European Union flag All European Union citizens

Which countries can travel to Egypt visa free?

  • Citizens of the following countries can stay in Egypt without a visa for up 3 months: Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Saudi Arabia and United Arab Emirates.  
  • Citizens of the following countries can stay in Uganda without a visa for up 6 months: Hong Kong, Jordan, Mexico
  • The rest of the countries can apply for the eVisa online.

Egypt visa requirements for the Sinai resorts

Citizens of the European Union, the US and Israel (exclusively through the Taba border crossing point) can now travel to the Sinai resorts without a visa. 

If a citizen of the mentioned nationalities wishes to only visit resorts in Sharm El Sheikh, Nuweiba, Dahab and Taba, they won’t need to apply for an Egypt visa. They will instead be given a permission stamp on their passport, without additional costs, which allows them to stay for 14 days. 

Important note: this stamp is exclusive for stays within the mentioned regions. It doesn’t allow travel outside of these areas during the validity period. 

We recommend that all visitors check this and all the other regulations in place before traveling to ensure a hassle-free entry to the country.